About the Mental Health Task Force

Mission & History

The Mission of the Assembly of Bishops' Mental Health Task Force is to identify and respond to the mental health needs of Orthodox Christian faithful in the United States.

Responding to an appeal of Orthodox Christian mental health professionals in 2019, the Executive Committee mandated its Affiliate Professional Organization, Orthodox Christian Association of Medicine, Psychology and Religion (OCAMPR), to assist in developing a task force to address the issue of mental health. Through partnership with OCAMPR, the AoB Mental Health Task Force was established to address mental health needs of both Eastern and Oriental Orthodox Christian communities.


Sangeetha Thomas, Programs Coordinator:  mentalhealth@assemblyofbishops.org


Bishop John (AOCA) - Chair
Philip Mamalakis, PhD - Vice Chair
Rev. Sean A. Levine, MATS, MABS, MDiv, MS, DMin Candidate
Rev. John Schieffler, PhD, MSW, ThM
E. Lila Amirali, MD, MMGMT (IMHL), FRCPC, FAPA
Randa Anderson, PhD
Katherine Karam McCray, MDiv, ThM, PhD Candidate
Rebecca Pearsall, MSW
Niveen Soliman, PhD


The work of the Mental Health Task Force is made possible with funding from The Archbishop Iakovos Leadership 100 Endowment Fund.